Go To Search
Click to Home

County Connect
Routt County, Colorado
P.O. Box 773598
Steamboat Springs, CO 80477
Ph: (970) 879-0108
Fx: (970) 879-3992

Museum & Heritage Advisory Board

A Mill levy to support Routt County's museum entities' (Historical Society of Oak Creek and Phippsburg, Town of Yampa for Yampa-Egeria Historical Society, Hahn's Peak Area Historical Society, Tread of Pioneers Museum, Hayden Heritage Center, and Historic Routt County) activities and to preserve the County's heritage was approved at the November 2003 general election.  Antlers
The Resolution establishing the mill levy stated that 77% of the funds raised would proportionally go to each of the museum districts; 3% of the mill levy would be for administration of the fund; 10% would be for Capacity-Building grants, and 10% would be allocated to Historic Routt County.  The creation of a Museum and Heritage Fund Advisory Board (MAHFAB) was also stipulated in the Resolution.  Board members representing each district in the County were appointed by the Routt County Board of County Commissioners (BCC) in January 2004 for either a two-year or a four-year term.  MAHFAB meets quarterly in January, April, July, and October and reviews entities' annual budgets and Capacity-Building Fund grant applications and then makes recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners regarding the budgets and the applications.


Contact Us
Tegan Anderson
Staff Assistant
Ph: (970) 879-0108 ext 311

Museum & Heritage Advisory Board
522 Lincoln Avenue
PO Box 773598
Steamboat Springs, CO 80477

Current Board Members
Pete Wither, Chair
Steamboat Springs Area District

Diane Holly
W. Routt District

Bryan Heselbach
N. Routt Area District

Ellen Bonnifield
Yampa Area District

Mary Mayer
Oak Creek/Phippsburg Fund District

Mike Lewis
Commissioner District I

Becky Hicks
Commissioner District II

Jim Peterson
Steamboat Springs Area District

Commissioner District III